Target Zero Commission – Working Group Meeting Wednesday, May 28, 2025 • 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm

Join Zoom Meeting

For all questions, comments, and concerns, please contact targetzero@rutgers.edu

Please introduce yourself in the chat.

Meeting Goals

• Identify potential actions that fall under the Safer People Objective of FHWA's Safe System Approach.

Agenda

- I. Welcome & NJDOT Remarks (Michael Rizol, Director, NJ DHTS)
- II. Role of Working Group Members (Leigh Ann Von Hagen, VTC)
- III. NJ Target Zero Action Plan: Safer People (VTC)
 - a. Objectives of the Safe System Approach and Additional Priorities
 - b. Overview of the Safer People Objective
 - i. Encourage safe behavior
 - ii. Create safe conditions
 - c. Draft action examples from the input form

IV. Breakout Groups (VTC)

Discussion: FHWA lists the following three behaviors as the most frequent and persistent behavioral safety factors in fatal crashes: Unrestrained occupants, impaired drivers, and speeding.

- 1. What action items should the plan consider to address unrestrained, impaired, and speeding drivers?
- 2. Are there other hazardous behaviors we should address in New Jersey?
- 3. How could these hazardous behaviors be mitigated?

Are there other effective strategies we should consider?

- V. Group Report Back (VTC)
- VI. Closing and Next Steps (NJDOT)
 - a. Action Plan Input Form
 - b. Email <u>targetzero@rutgers.edu</u> with any comments or questions
 - c. Register for future Working Group meetings:
 - i. June Working Group Meeting: Safer Roads, Safer Speeds
 - Wednesday, June 18, 2pm-3:30pm, via Zoom
 - ii. July Working Group Meeting: Safer Vehicles, Post-Crash Care

- Wednesday, July 16, 2pm-3:30pm, via Zoom
- iii. August Working Group Meeting: Action Item Prioritization Exercise
 - Wednesday, August 13, 9am–3:30pm, in person, (registration link to follow)
- iv. September Working Group Meeting: Finalization of Action Items
 - Wednesday, September 24, 2pm-3:30pm, via Zoom

New Jersey Target Zero Commission

Francis O'Connor (NJDOT, chair) | Patrick Callahan (NJSP) | Michael Rizol (NJ DHTS) | Kimberly DiGiovanni (NJMVC) | Justin Davis (NJ TRANSIT) | James Carone (NJTA) | Kandyce Perry (NJDEP) | Nashon Hornsby (NJDOH) | Ian Rayfield (NJDCA) | Adam Neary (NJDHS) | David Behrend (NJTPA) | Jennifer Marandino (SJTPO) | Kevin Murphy (DVRPC)