Target Zero Commission – Working Group Meeting Wednesday, June 18, 2025 • 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm

Register to join

For all questions, comments, and concerns, please contact targetzero@rutgers.edu

Please introduce yourself in the chat.

Meeting Goals

• Identify potential actions that fall under the Safer Roads and Safer Speeds Objectives of FHWA's Safe System Approach.

Agenda

- I. Welcome & NJDOT Remarks (Nashon Hornsby, Dept. of Health)
- II. Working Group Member Input (Leigh Ann Von Hagen, VTC)
 - a. Overview of submitted Safer People action items
- III. NJ Target Zero Action Plan: Safer Roads and Safer Speeds (VTC)
 - a. Objectives of the Safe System Approach and Additional Priorities
 - b. Overview of the Safer Roads Objective
 - i. Mitigate human mistakes
 - ii. Reduce conflicts
 - iii. Account for injury tolerances
 - c. Overview of the Safer Speeds Objective
 - i. Design roadways for context-appropriate speeds
 - ii. Set context-appropriate speed limits
 - iii. Targeted outreach, education, enforcement
 - d. List of Safer Roads action items submitted
 - e. List of Safer Speeds action items submitted

IV. Breakout Groups (VTC)

Discussion:

- 1. Are there other aspects of the Safer Roads submitted action items that should be addressed?
- 2. Are there other aspects of the Safer Speeds submitted action items that should be addressed?
- 3. What other effective strategies should be considered for Safer Roads?
- 4. What other effective strategies should be considered for Safer Speeds?
- V. Group Report Back (VTC)
- VI. Closing and Next Steps (NJDOT)
 - a. Action Plan Input Form NEED Safer Vehicles & Post Crash Care actions!

- b. Email targetzero@rutgers.edu with any comments or questions
- c. Register for future Working Group meetings:
 - i. <u>July Working Group Meeting: Safer Vehicles, Post-Crash Care</u>
 - Wednesday, July 16, 2pm-3:30pm, via Zoom
 - ii. August Working Group Meeting: Additional Priorities
 - Wednesday, August 13, 1:30pm-3:30pm, via Zoom
 - iii. September Working Group Meeting: Finalization of Action Items
 - Wednesday, September 24, 2pm–3:30pm, via Zoom

New Jersey Target Zero Commission

Francis O'Connor (NJDOT, chair) | Patrick Callahan (NJSP) | Michael Rizol (NJ DHTS) | Kimberly DiGiovanni (NJMVC) | Justin Davis (NJ TRANSIT) | James Carone (NJTA) | Kandyce Perry (NJDEP) | Nashon Hornsby (NJDOH) | Ian Rayfield (NJDCA) | Adam Neary (NJDHS) | David Behrend (NJTPA) | Jennifer Marandino (SJTPO) | Kevin Murphy (DVRPC)